Lineage II Forums

Lineage II Forums (http://boards.lineage2.com/index.php)
-   General Technical Issues (http://boards.lineage2.com/forumdisplay.php?f=173)
-   -   Using Windows Vista? Having Troubles? ~READ~ (http://boards.lineage2.com/showthread.php?t=169293)

Judas 07-03-2007 06:17 PM

Using Windows 7 / Vista? Having Troubles? ~READ~
 
I will try to be BRIEF and still descriptive enough to allow any user to step by step, get things working.


Every version of vista comes with UAC, this is a critical feature of vista that i recommend NOT BE DISABLED.

However Lineage2 requires full admin access at the moment, hopefully in coming versions, they'll be able to fix this issue as no program should require full admin rights.



FROM THE START~> Installing lineage2 for the first time on vista.


Depending on the Source, if you are using a CD/DVD to install, you MUST close the autopopup dialog box after inserting the media.

Open START~>My Computer
A window should popup with the drives/folders
Right click on the CD/DVD Drive that contains the CD/DVD of lineage2, a menu should open and SELECT OPEN.
Within this window should be a file named SETUP
Right Click SETUP and within the menu, select RUN AS ADMINISTRATOR.
A dialog box should come asking if you are sure you want to run this program, SAY ALLOW, from here you should have ZERO problems installing.

If your installing from an downloaded pack, extract the package and do the similar method mentioned above, go into the package and right click the SETUP in there, select run as ADMINISTRATOR. Install away.



AFTER INSTALLATION~> Running the game.

In order to be able to run the game, you must also grant access to the game. Usually a Desktop Icon of LINEAGEII will be created, we'll use this as an example.

RIGHT click on the LINEAGEII icon on the desktop, select Properties.
A window should open with several tabs, select the CAPABILITY tab.
Within this tab, there are several options, ignore everything else and go down to the bottom where it says "Privilege Level", a checkbox is below with the following beside it "Run this program as administrator", Place a check in this box by clicking on the box.
Hit APPLY then OK.

Now double click the icon, a dialog box should come asking if you are sure you want to run this program, hit ALLOW.

From here on you should have ZERO problems updating the game, running the game, or being interrupted by further dialog boxes.

Veirilli 07-04-2007 07:42 PM

Re: Using Windows Vista? Haveing Troubles? ~READ~
 
::clears throat::

Sticky?

Shaunrah 07-04-2007 09:32 PM

Re: Using Windows Vista? Haveing Troubles? ~READ~
 
I think the best answer to all the Vista problems would be simply, drop Vista, get XP.

Judas 07-04-2007 10:26 PM

Re: Using Windows Vista? Haveing Troubles? ~READ~
 
Shaunrah,

wait... nvm.

I don't think you can remove your own posts on the forums here, but if you could, i'd have suggested that it be done.

There isn't vista problems, it's simply being unfamilare with a more secure system, and NCSoft requireing a fair bit MORE Rights and privilages then they should have on a machine. (imo)

I wanted to keep this thread as clean and helpful, as though i haven't a hitch myself related to vista, others not up and up on the vista thing or using older install disks are going to have a hard time. I tried to simplify it with this thread.

Vista faster, more stable, more reliable, then XP will now ever be. It just requires the right installation priseedures and hardware, not some hunk of junk Dell/compaq/hp/gateway or whatever prebuild POS or cheaply built Custom machine.


Anyways, i've recently seen a climb in the number of threads or posts related to vista and granting the correct rights.

Estremoz 07-04-2007 10:57 PM

Re: Using Windows Vista? Haveing Troubles? ~READ~
 
I like Vista so far, it's just a matter of learning how to work with it.

I don't know how I'd revert back to XP anyway. But I swear there is an option to actually run something as if it were on XP...

Shaunrah 07-05-2007 12:31 AM

Re: Using Windows Vista? Haveing Troubles? ~READ~
 
I never said there was anything wrong with Vista when playing L2. The problem has always lied with GameGuard and the way it attempts to subvert the OS and the built in protection. The true answer to running L2 perfectly on XP or Vista, is to get rid of GG.

I wont hold my breath on that ever happening though.

Warriorr 07-05-2007 12:36 AM

Re: Using Windows Vista? Haveing Troubles? ~READ~
 
Most of my problems went away when i "activated" Administrator account for use.

Tarynn 07-05-2007 03:06 AM

Re: Using Windows Vista? Haveing Troubles? ~READ~
 
Yup there is an hidden account in vista,that you need to activate before you can use it.Its more powerful than the normal admin account,and ignores UAC warnings etc..

To activate it open a command prompt whit admin rights.

Start/all programs/Accessories/right click command prompt and choose run as admin..In there write the following..

net user administrator /active:yes

Its not password protected..To remove it again do the same and replace yes whit no...Reboot and you will see it.

But running on normal admin account will ussely remove most problems,and if you can live whit out it disable UAC

Judas 07-05-2007 07:53 AM

Re: Using Windows Vista? Haveing Troubles? ~READ~
 
Tarynn, BAD bad bad..... running under a full admin or without UAC is a horribly bad idea.... Your essentially removing all security protocals and the works, if so much as the simpliest thing ends up on the machine while doing so, then it has free reign over the machine to do anything it wants.

Tarynn 07-05-2007 09:11 AM

Re: Using Windows Vista? Haveing Troubles? ~READ~
 
Err it ignores UAC warnings doesent shut it of.To put it simple you can run whit uac running, and don't end up shutting it of like 90% of vista users do to avoid the popups it does.So in fact your safer.

And UAC isn't the most important sa***uard in Vista.Thats the defender.All UAC does is treat you like a moron and ask if your really sure you wanna run this program,something most people are quite capable of deciding for themselves.And if they are not they will allow it to run anyway....But if you wanna run it,that account provides an option to do so.Whit out treating you like a baby..

EvaSaint 07-05-2007 09:16 AM

Re: Using Windows Vista? Haveing Troubles? ~READ~
 
have to admin, clicking "run as admin" then "are you sure you wanna run this program??? yes" all the time was pretty **** annoying on vista

Judas 07-05-2007 10:16 AM

Re: Using Windows Vista? Haveing Troubles? ~READ~
 
If a quick dialog box, that takes less then a second to ALLOW annoys you, imo, that's somewhat sad.

And it's not babing you, i've seen some cases where UAC has actually saved the machine while norton blew it and allowed the culprit in....

Tarynn 07-05-2007 12:10 PM

Re: Using Windows Vista? Haveing Troubles? ~READ~
 
Norton sucks plain and simple..And im not the only annoyed,like i said 90% of vista users turn it of..Sooner or later..

Akirah 07-10-2007 08:13 AM

Re: Using Windows Vista? Haveing Troubles? ~READ~
 
I am still having issues running L2 on my Desktop that has Vista. I have un-installed/re-Installed; Run as Admin; Run with Compatibility; Go in and have run on CPU 0 only. Still Crashes on me with the GameGuard Error. I think I have tried everything that is posted here to get it to work but I just can't figure out why since that one patch a couple of weeks ago L2 now won't work with Vista any longer.

Any suggestions or more information needed message me if you think you can help me. Other than buying XP. lol

Tarynn 07-10-2007 08:23 AM

Re: Using Windows Vista? Haveing Troubles? ~READ~
 
This one is for Judas and his UAC...If you wanna have UAC on but be free to listen to those admin popups google tweakUAC..Its a small program that can enable UAC to be on but in silent mode,it will still pop up whit anything else than the admin box..Now you can live in peace whit UAC :)

TheRev 07-10-2007 08:27 AM

Re: Using Windows Vista? Haveing Troubles? ~READ~
 
When does Lineage I'll be DirectX 10 Compatible?
Caus that whould be for me a reason to go Vista =)

Judas 07-10-2007 09:58 AM

Re: Using Windows Vista? Haveing Troubles? ~READ~
 
Akirah, Please contact NCsoft tech support with the Gameguard error you are getting, it's likely not related to vista.

(and if you can, detail your Gameguard Error # and message please)


Thanks Tarynn

TheRev, lineage2 will never ben DirectX10 full featured, it's it's already dx10 campatible though. (using DirectX9.0L)

Lineage3 however, should be, hopefully ncsoft IS using the latest revisions of the unreal 3 engine which may be dubbed 3.5 which makes full use of directx 10 (10.1? )

TheRev 07-10-2007 01:44 PM

Re: Using Windows Vista? Haveing Troubles? ~READ~
 
[ QUOTE ]

TheRev, lineage2 will never ben DirectX10 full featured, it's it's already dx10 campatible though. (using DirectX9.0L)

Lineage3 however, should be, hopefully ncsoft IS using the latest revisions of the unreal 3 engine which may be dubbed 3.5 which makes full use of directx 10 (10.1? )

[/ QUOTE ]

Yeah Indeed they have updated DirectX 9 on XP to version 9.0L which includes some of the new technologies from 10.

But I was wondering, when I play Lineage2 on Vista with dx10 installed and ofcourse a Dx10 compatible videocard I'll get a better Graphics in Lineage2 :eek:? instead of XP and dx 9.0L :cool:

Judas 07-10-2007 01:56 PM

Re: Using Windows Vista? Haveing Troubles? ~READ~
 
No...

Dx9.0L is Vista only, Directx 9.0c (june 2007) is available on xp.

Running pure DX10, will not improve visually, aside from the performance boosts.

TheRev 07-10-2007 02:10 PM

Re: Using Windows Vista? Haveing Troubles? ~READ~
 
[ QUOTE ]
No...

Dx9.0L is Vista only, Directx 9.0c (june 2007) is available on xp.

Running pure DX10, will not improve visually, aside from the performance boosts.

[/ QUOTE ]

Aha Now I get it, I was alittle bit confused about dx9.0Longorn for XP.
So in conclusion: I dont gonna install Vista.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:01 AM.

©20042012 NC Interactive, Inc. All rights reserved. NCSOFT, the Interlocking NC Logo, PlayNC, Lineage, Team Lineage II, Lineage II, Goddess of Destruction, Truly Free, L2 Store, L2 Galleria, NCoin, Path to Awakening, and all associated logos and designs are trademarks or registered trademarks of NCSOFT Corporation. All other trademarks or registered trademarks are property of their respective owners.