Lineage II Forums  
Go Back   Lineage II Forums > Lineage II Discussion > Player Questions

Login


Player Questions Attention new players (and veterans too)! Do you have questions about Lineage II? Looking for a drop? Need tips on a quest? Come on in and ask your questions here--players of all experience levels are welcome!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 10-19-2013, 11:27 AM   #1
Anubis-Bartz
Goblin Lord
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 37
Anubis-Bartz is an unknown quantity at this point
Exclamation Can't Resolve host name..

my friend get this everytime he try to log his charc. also he cant open lineage2.com but else everything is running so good with no problem i mean internet at all websites other games everything work but only lineage dont. any solution , he is from romania and also my other friend have same problem now from greece , both of them get same error can't resolve host name
Anubis-Bartz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2013, 11:44 AM   #2
ZuFF
Remnant Diabolist
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 1,744
ZuFF is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Re: Can't Resolve host name..

your friends played at a private server that a) doesn't exist anymore and b) messed up their hosts file

\windows\system32\drivers\etc\

there's a file in there named hosts (with no extension)
delete it and reboot
ZuFF is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2013, 12:00 PM   #3
Anubis-Bartz
Goblin Lord
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 37
Anubis-Bartz is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Re: Can't Resolve host name..

tried that already but with no luck + he never play in privet server .
weird thing is it happen to both of them in same second both dc then cant relog
[EDIT] they also cant open lineage2.com this also related to hosts file ?
Anubis-Bartz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2013, 12:06 PM   #4
ZuFF
Remnant Diabolist
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 1,744
ZuFF is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Re: Can't Resolve host name..

open up an admin command prompt and type

ipconfig /flushdns


yes it's either their hosts file or (unlikely) their DNS server
ZuFF is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2013, 03:34 PM   #5
Tiferet1
Earth Wyrm Trasken
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: The Mists
Posts: 10,076
Tiferet1 is a splendid one to beholdTiferet1 is a splendid one to beholdTiferet1 is a splendid one to beholdTiferet1 is a splendid one to beholdTiferet1 is a splendid one to beholdTiferet1 is a splendid one to beholdTiferet1 is a splendid one to behold
Default Re: Can't Resolve host name..

I had that issue last night along with other Italian players from my clan, I assume it was a DNS problem.
And no, we never modded the host file. We were already logged in and we were disconnected at the same time...
Tiferet1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2013, 10:27 PM   #6
Aconyte
Zaken
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: St.Petersburg
Posts: 3,118
Aconyte is a jewel in the roughAconyte is a jewel in the roughAconyte is a jewel in the rough
Default Re: Can't Resolve host name..

Yes it's most likely a random DNS problem or routing issue.
A couple days ago, around 4AM GMT, I got d/ced and could not log in for half an hour;
/ipconfig flushdns did not help.
During that period I could not view this forum either, while other sites worked fine.
Aconyte is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:24 PM.