Lineage II Forums  
Go Back   Lineage II Forums > Technical Discussions > General Technical Issues

Login


General Technical Issues Describe your client-side, hardware or software complications. This is not a place to report game bugs.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 12-12-2007, 06:33 AM   #1
Irijs2
Elpy
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 11
Irijs2 is an unknown quantity at this point
Default D3DERR_OUTOFVIDEOMEMORY error

hi,
i'm getting this error for the last 2-3 weeks now. it occurs when i load the second game client in window mode. if the first one is in minimized it works fine. or if one is window and one is full screen. but as soon as i try to keep both in window it crashes. doesn't matter from which folder i run or in what order - i have tried all the possible combinations including PTS + interlude, 2 PTS, 2 interlude, running one from shortcut and one from syste folder and it behaves the same. changing resolution doesn't help, if i change my screen (not game) to 1024x768 and use same sizes in game it loads but half of the interface windows are white and after 15 minutes of playing it completely crashes my system and reboots in safe mode with no gfx driver loaded. i have updated/reinstalled the game clients, gfx drivers and directx more than once, only thing i haven't done yet is reinstall windows like someone recommended in some forum but that seems a bit drastic
besides, it has been working before with the extact same configuration - i have been able to load up to 4 game clients before my ram starts giving up...
any suggestions? and yes i can play with one screen minimized and one in window since the slave buffer sits for 20 minutes anyway but it's more about why does this happen and how to fix it - or else maybe soon i cannot run it at all
obviously i did try deleting option. ini file and like all of us know it recreates itself upon loading the game so not much of a point in that.
i have win xp media center edition, hp pavilion laptop with widescreen (max res 1280x800). my own guess was that it has to do with the unusual screen size but it has worked fine for more than a year and most of the new laptops i see on sale now have widescreen so it seems a bit weird that all of a sudden it doesn't support this any more. and well then it should work if i change the resolution... i had a gfx issue with wow client but that works fine just when i change the game reslution to the common 1024x786. with l2 it doesn't help.
i don't want to get a separate screen as well before i'm sure where the problem lies - or it would be a waste of money.
thanks.

Error setting display mode: CreateDevice failed (D3DERR_OUTOFVIDEOMEMORY). Please delete your Option.ini file if this error prevents you from starting the game.

History: UD3DRenderDevice::UnSetRes <- CreateDevice <- UD3DRenderDevice::SetRes <- UWindowsViewport::TryRenderDevice <- UWindowsViewport::OpenWindow <- UGameEngine::Init <- InitEngine
Irijs2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2007, 06:46 AM   #2
Rohirrim
Valakas
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 5,914
Rohirrim is a name known to allRohirrim is a name known to allRohirrim is a name known to allRohirrim is a name known to allRohirrim is a name known to allRohirrim is a name known to all
Default Re: D3DERR_OUTOFVIDEOMEMORY error

You don't have enough RAM to run 2 clients. Did you change anything in your computer when the problem started (new graphics card for example)?

Edit: Try to run both clients in minimum details mode...that way they will use less RAM.
__________________
=spam= is on a rampage
=spam= loves watching botters QQ on [censored]
Rohirrim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2007, 07:09 AM   #3
Nanashi_Naomhan
Frintezza
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: gert by sea
Posts: 14,548
Nanashi_Naomhan is just really niceNanashi_Naomhan is just really niceNanashi_Naomhan is just really niceNanashi_Naomhan is just really niceNanashi_Naomhan is just really nice
Default Re: D3DERR_OUTOFVIDEOMEMORY error

check how much ram your computer has
maybe one of your sticks bit the dust
Nanashi_Naomhan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2007, 07:17 AM   #4
Shaunrah
Grave Predator
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 465
Shaunrah is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Re: D3DERR_OUTOFVIDEOMEMORY error

Try a smaller screen size for the game window, ie, 800x600 for each client. Oh, and if you use antialiasing (AA), turn that off as well.
Shaunrah is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2007, 08:21 AM   #5
Irijs2
Elpy
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 11
Irijs2 is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Re: D3DERR_OUTOFVIDEOMEMORY error

thanks for the input but i have enough ram (this laptop has been running 4 clients and still does unless i window more than one)... nope i haven't changed anything, it would make sense then but that's my problem - the hardware has not been changed when it started to give that error i tried 800x600 and that doesn't help either. i read from somewhere that it is not really the memory problem as such but more of the gfx getting the wrong type of command so it starts looping on one thing and therefore seems to have no memory to perform the operation. looks like a driver/directx conflict or something but why did it start...
and when i tried just now with 2 pts clients it looked like this:

2007.12.12 18:28:08
OS : Windows XP 5.1 (Build: 2600)
CPU : GenuineIntel PentiumPro-class processor @ 1598 MHz with 1014MB RAM
Video : Mobile Intel(R) 945GM Express Chipset Family (4543)
PosCode : 0:0:0 2/0

Error setting display mode: CreateDevice failed (D3DERR_OUTOFVIDEOMEMORY). Please delete your Option.ini file if this error prevents you from starting the game.

History: UD3DRenderDevice::UnSetRes <- CreateDevice <- UD3DRenderDevice::SetRes <- WM_SIZE <- UWindowsViewport::ViewportWndProc <- WWindow::StaticProc <- WM_UNKNOWN <- UWindowsViewport::ViewportWndProc <- WWindow::StaticProc <- WM_SYSCOMMAND <- UWindowsViewport::ViewportWndProc <- WWindow::StaticProc <- DispatchMessage <- 003404CE 274 <- MessagePump <- MainLoop

Edited: the difference comes from how i run them - if its one in window and then the other one is loaded i get the error i wrote in the first post. when i have one minimized, then load the other and then alt+tab it gives this message.
but yea when i have more time i will try format c: and reinstall
Irijs2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2007, 08:29 AM   #6
Cabbie
Beleth's Slave
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: The Imperial City
Posts: 3,422
Cabbie will become famous soon enoughCabbie will become famous soon enough
Default Re: D3DERR_OUTOFVIDEOMEMORY error

format the hard drive and see if that works

no reallly - I used to get that error before as well, but to be honest, not sure what of the following things I did fixed it:

Check File
ran AdWare
re-ran virus protection scan
deleted out all temp files

hope that helps and good luck.
Cabbie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2007, 09:07 AM   #7
MikoLee
Grave Predator
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Gustin, Red Light District
Posts: 493
MikoLee is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Re: D3DERR_OUTOFVIDEOMEMORY error

check file probably
MikoLee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2007, 11:50 AM   #8
Pixie_
Imperial Warlord
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Kain
Posts: 1,120
Pixie_ is on a distinguished road
Default Re: D3DERR_OUTOFVIDEOMEMORY error

Try testing your memory.

http://www.memtest.org/
Pixie_ is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:50 PM.