Lineage II Forums  
Go Back   Lineage II Forums > Technical Discussions > General Technical Issues

Login


General Technical Issues Describe your client-side, hardware or software complications. This is not a place to report game bugs.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-04-2011, 09:31 AM   #1
lCronosl
Elpy
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 4
lCronosl is an unknown quantity at this point
Default How to edit l2.ini?

Does anyone know how to modify Goddess of Destruction L2.ini? I've always used L2FileEdit to do it, but it seems that it's not working anymore on GoD. I'm asking this because I'd really love to edit L2MaxPawnResourceLoad to get better performance on SSD disk and I'd also like to get rid of the annoying window frame in windowed mode.
lCronosl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2011, 09:37 AM   #2
TwilightAngel
Grave Predator
 
TwilightAngel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 424
TwilightAngel is on a distinguished road
Default Re: How to edit l2.ini?

Quote:
Originally Posted by lCronosl View Post
Does anyone know how to modify Goddess of Destruction L2.ini? I've always used L2FileEdit to do it, but it seems that it's not working anymore on GoD. I'm asking this because I'd really love to edit L2MaxPawnResourceLoad to get better performance on SSD disk and I'd also like to get rid of the annoying window frame in windowed mode.
then play full screen =P

also are you sure your allowed to be editing something like that
TwilightAngel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2011, 09:51 AM   #3
Darma
Dark Knight
 
Darma's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: My home
Posts: 196
Darma is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Re: How to edit l2.ini?

wtf? modifiying client is not allowed.

READ THE F****** rules BEFORE playing!
__________________

Darma is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2011, 10:17 AM   #4
sTiNkFiSt
Dark Lord
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 243
sTiNkFiSt is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Re: How to edit l2.ini?

NCSoft used to ban accounts for people asking that stuff
__________________
Pallandos 89 Othell Rouge / 84 Arcana Lord Sub - Kain
sTiNkFiSt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2011, 10:35 AM   #5
lCronosl
Elpy
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 4
lCronosl is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Re: How to edit l2.ini?

OK. I didn't know that you can't even modify simple text file with client settings(I don't see any logical reason why you shouldn't be able to make your game run better)..
lCronosl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2011, 10:37 AM   #6
sTiNkFiSt
Dark Lord
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 243
sTiNkFiSt is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Re: How to edit l2.ini?

Been this way since closed beta, Game specifically says do not manually edit client files in any way.
__________________
Pallandos 89 Othell Rouge / 84 Arcana Lord Sub - Kain
sTiNkFiSt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2011, 10:43 AM   #7
michas
Imperial Warlord
 
michas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Parallel Universe
Posts: 1,138
michas is on a distinguished road
Default Re: How to edit l2.ini?

Quote:
Originally Posted by lCronosl View Post
OK. I didn't know that you can't even modify simple text file with client settings(I don't see any logical reason why you shouldn't be able to make your game run better)..
Cuz in same txt file you are able to turn on ex. unlimited view. Thats why...
__________________
michas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2011, 10:59 AM   #8
Skelton
Purgatory Shadow
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Dark Forest
Posts: 604
Skelton is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Re: How to edit l2.ini?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Darma View Post
wtf? modifiying client is not allowed.

READ THE F****** rules BEFORE playing!

This behavior is simply unacceptable.

You can be exactly precise without sounding like a *********. Obviously he didn't know about this otherwise he wouldn't be posting it here, would he?
Skelton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2011, 11:16 AM   #9
ThisIsADisplayName
Goblin Lord
 
ThisIsADisplayName's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: USA
Posts: 26
ThisIsADisplayName is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Re: How to edit l2.ini?

Quote:
Originally Posted by michas View Post
Cuz in same txt file you are able to turn on ex. unlimited view. Thats why...
I forgot that zooming out to an infinite range gives you the best advantage ever (the client is only sent information about entities in x radius around the player, meaning you can't see anyone being x range anyway).

But to correct you, that's in user.ini not l2.ini.

As to the OP's request, wait for the developer of the dstuff website to update l2encdec. You'll probably have to contact him/her and let them know it needs an update.
ThisIsADisplayName is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2011, 11:35 AM   #10
lCronosl
Elpy
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 4
lCronosl is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Re: How to edit l2.ini?

Ok, thank you for your answers..
lCronosl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2011, 12:13 PM   #11
Piotress
Banned
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: In your dreams
Posts: 2,218
Piotress has a spectacular aura about themPiotress has a spectacular aura about them
Default Re: How to edit l2.ini?

Regardless of how you can edit files, altering any of the encrypted client files is not allowed; it states this in the ELUA and is bannable.

The only file you can actually alter, to my knowledge, is the Options.ini because it is not encrypted.
Piotress is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2011, 12:21 PM   #12
Gotcha
Goblin Lord
 
Gotcha's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 31
Gotcha is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Re: How to edit l2.ini?

what if u change the glows of the weapons? i been wondering that for awhile do they know when u edit it?
__________________


R.I.P Tupac Amaru Shakur

1971-1996
Gotcha is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2011, 12:26 PM   #13
nconde25
Heathen Knight
 
nconde25's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 729
nconde25 is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Re: How to edit l2.ini?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gotcha View Post
what if u change the glows of the weapons? i been wondering that for awhile do they know when u edit it?
Again forbidden and no they can't know, but is still forbidden.
nconde25 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2011, 12:34 PM   #14
Piotress
Banned
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: In your dreams
Posts: 2,218
Piotress has a spectacular aura about themPiotress has a spectacular aura about them
Default Re: How to edit l2.ini?

Quote:
Originally Posted by nconde25 View Post
Again forbidden and no they can't know, but is still forbidden.
Well, that depends on how they check the files. As many know each time you launch the game, with the NC Launcher or an Lineage II shortcut, the first thing it does is check for updates.

There is every possibilty that there is a byte counter that checks the size of each file and if there are any changes it simply overwrites it with a new file. Altering so much as a single character alters the binary size of a file slightly; you might not notice it but a byte counter would.

I do not honestly think they go this far, but such a system is easily possibile.

Back in the 1980's when I was still programming games in BASIC I had a small check system built into the program that would check the charcater count of the program; if it found anything odd the program would simply kick you out and not run. Since I used a BASIC compiler it made it even harder for somebody to find and remove this check function; it was so much fun seeing people get annoyed when they would try to alter my code and nothing would run.

Last edited by Piotress; 12-04-2011 at 12:37 PM.
Piotress is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2011, 02:29 PM   #15
Hotk4
Elpy
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Brazil
Posts: 7
Hotk4 is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Re: How to edit l2.ini?

The L2 updater doens't know what files are changed, and dont repair them!
Hotk4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2011, 04:45 PM   #16
Piotress
Banned
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: In your dreams
Posts: 2,218
Piotress has a spectacular aura about themPiotress has a spectacular aura about them
Default Re: How to edit l2.ini?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hotk4 View Post
The L2 updater doens't know what files are changed, and dont repair them!
Rage more?

How do you know? Did you code the updater yourself and know what it does in the background when run?

Actually it does check the files.. just try deleting something from the system directory and watch what it does.

lol. Your first post in the forums was to rage about something you have no idea about. I have been playing retail L2 for 7 years and know very well what the updater can do.

Last edited by Piotress; 12-04-2011 at 04:49 PM.
Piotress is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2011, 09:03 PM   #17
eiokh
Elpy
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 3
eiokh is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Re: How to edit l2.ini?

its option.ini , not l2.ini. pressing alt + enter also can switch to windowed mode
eiokh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2011, 10:55 PM   #18
ihavetoregister
Goblin Lord
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 44
ihavetoregister is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Re: How to edit l2.ini?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Piotress View Post
Rage more?

How do you know? Did you code the updater yourself and know what it does in the background when run?

Actually it does check the files.. just try deleting something from the system directory and watch what it does.

lol. Your first post in the forums was to rage about something you have no idea about. I have been playing retail L2 for 7 years and know very well what the updater can do.
Too bad the normal L2 launcher never checked those files nor does the NCSoft launcher now.

The game itself will generate a default config file if one does not exist though. But I'm not surprised a retail kid who has never bothered to use l2encdec or any other program would know about that.

Most of us like to modify those files to do custom keybinds and shortcuts as well as get better performance and image quality. Not everyone has devious intentions.
ihavetoregister is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2011, 12:09 AM   #19
TwilightAngel
Grave Predator
 
TwilightAngel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 424
TwilightAngel is on a distinguished road
Default Re: How to edit l2.ini?

Quote:
Originally Posted by ihavetoregister View Post
Too bad the normal L2 launcher never checked those files nor does the NCSoft launcher now.

The game itself will generate a default config file if one does not exist though. But I'm not surprised a retail kid who has never bothered to use l2encdec or any other program would know about that.

Most of us like to modify those files to do custom keybinds and shortcuts as well as get better performance and image quality. Not everyone has devious intentions.
Well sorry mr private server...... on retail your not allow to do this and will be banned. I can see it now that NcSoft will prob be banning your account sometime soon and any other gaming company out there
TwilightAngel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2011, 12:53 AM   #20
ihavetoregister
Goblin Lord
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 44
ihavetoregister is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Re: How to edit l2.ini?

Quote:
Originally Posted by TwilightAngel View Post
Well sorry mr private server...... on retail your not allow to do this and will be banned. I can see it now that NcSoft will prob be banning your account sometime soon and any other gaming company out there
For what? The current GoD client can't be de/re-encrypted so no one is modifying it. So you think I'm going to get banned for briefly having a rational discussion about it?

I'm not the OP btw in case you were confused. Just a logical thinking player who doesn't see the harm in enabling certain things like triple buffering and higher render distances (this doesn't mean I can see players or npcs farther away, just terrain, objects, etc).
ihavetoregister is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:32 PM.